University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota
College of Biological Sciences

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics


Congratulations, to BMBB Professor David Thomas who was elected to the Academic Health Center Academy for Excellence in Health Research.  The Academy is the highest honor given to AHC faculty and recognizes Dr. Thomas’ achievements in muscle research.  Professor Thomas is an internationally recognized leader in the area of muscle protein dynamics and his work has provided fundamental understanding to a wide number of processes ranging from aging and muscle contraction to muscular dystrophy.

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics Professor James Ervasti recently received the Leon Poliachik Humanitarian Award presented by the Muscular Dystrophy Association to Dr. Ervasti at their recent 2013 Black ‘n Blue Ball.  The award recognizes those whose selfless use of time goes above and beyond to serve people with neuromuscular diseases.  Congratulations to Professor Ervasti! 

Congratulations to BMBB Professor John Lipscomb who has been recognized by the American Chemical Society with the 2014 Repligen Award in Chemistry of Biological Processes.  The Lipscomb lab studies the mechanisms by which enzymes utilize molecular oxygen in catalysis—a process fundamental to bacteria, fungi, plants and animals.  The Repligen Award was established in 1985 and recognizes the nations leading scientists for their studies contributing to the understanding of the structure, function and mechanism of biological processes and will be recognized by a Silver Medal given at the 2014 annual meeting of the ACS. 

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics Professor Romas Kazlauskas has been recognized with an honorary doctoral degree from the KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm.  Professor Kazlauskas studies a wide range of enzymes at the chemistry-biotechnology interface with a focus on biocatalysis.  His work involves enzymes that create more efficient and sustainable processes that minimize the production of pollutants and the use of toxic and non-specific chemical reagents.  Congratulations to Professor Kazlauskas!

Congratulations to Michael Burns and Frank Chao for being chosen as the 2013 Beatrice Z. Milne and Theodore Brandenburg Award!

Congratulations to Dr. Burckhard Seelig, Frank Chao and Dr. Gianluigi Veglia for their publication in Nature Chemical Biology entitled "Structure and dynamics of a primordial catalytic fold generated by in vitro evolution".



Seminars & Events

JANUARY 21 Chao Li

Student Seminar
2-137 Jackson | East Bank | 12:20 p.m.


2-137 Jackson | East Bank | 4 p.m.

Department & Graduate Student seminars

BLINK: Life science seminars @ the U